Delegates vote for new NEC members

Voting for additional 200 members of the ANC continued on Tuesday at the party’s 55th national conference held in Nasrec.

The nominees’ list includes new contenders such as Limpopo PEC member Phophi Ramathuba, former Tshwane regional chairperson Kgosi Maepa, former KwaZulu-Natal secretary Mdumiseni Ntuli and ANCYL leaders Nonceba Mhlauli and Nthutuko Makhombothi.

ALSO READ: How loyalists saved Ramaphosa

Over the weekend, the more than 4 000 delegates elected the re-structured top seven leaders, where President Cyril Ramaphosa was re-elected for the second term.

Prior to the announcement of the results, the conference dissolved the NEC and the top six leaders elected in 2017.

Western Cape, Northern Cape and Limpopo were the first provinces to cast their votes on Monday.

The rest of the provinces are voting on Tuesday.

Commissions to report back

As the party prepares to wrap up the conference, commissions that discussed various policies are also expected to report back on decisions taken to the media.

But with the conference having started very late on day one, it remains to seen as to whether the party will wrap up all presentations on Tuesday.

The elected 200 NEC members are expected to be announced in an open plenary, after which Ramaphosa will deliver his closing speech.

NOW READ: ANC needs plan to get them talking’ – Mbalula wants to solve issues between Zuma and Ramaphosa





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *